Thr3e, By Ted Dekker


Personal Rating: 8.0 out of 10.0
Unbiased Rating: 9.3 out of 10.0

From the Back Cover of Thr3e
“Kevin Parson is alone in his car when his cell phone rings. A man calling himself Slater offers a deadly ultimatum: You have exactly three minutes to confess your sin to the world. Refuse, and the car you’re driving will blow sky high. Then the phone goes dead.
Kevin panics. Who would make such a demand? What sin? Yet not sure what else to do, Kevin swerves into a parking lot and runs from his car. Just in case.
Precisely three minutes later, a massive explosion sets his world on a collision course with madness. And that’s only the first move in this deadly game.”

Personal Review
When I first heard about this book, I thought, “Sweet, a killer game, and a villain obsessed with the number three and one man.” However, as I first started to read it, a lot of things threw me off-kilter.
One was the lack of subtlety. When characters are introduced, practically their whole life stories are thrown at you. All except the main character’s of course. Personally, I like a few facts to be shown to me, and then more tidbits added as the story goes on. The second was when the point of view of Slater is being written. While the entire book is written in third-person, Slater’s moments alone are written in second-person, which threw me off the first time. And thirdly, the lack of swearing. I understand Ted Dekker is a Christian author (I myself am a Baptist) but in reading adult novels I find that certain emotions are better conveyed using cuss words. It was a little awkward, but not terribly off-setting. Ironically, those were the only three things I felt wrong about the book.

*WARNING SPOILER ALERT*
*WARNING SPOILER ALERT*
*WARNING SPOILER ALERT*
Have you been warned enough? Hehe.
As the plot moved along, I was mostly confused, and yet quite informed at the same time. I knew what was happening to the characters, I simply didn’t know why. The ending explained everything, however, and so I feel satisfied. I had actually suspected that Kevin and Slater might be the same person having read Fight Club and most of Shutter Island. I didn’t however, expect Samantha to also be a split personality. The fact that Kevin had three different personalities, the book title being called Thr3e, and the underlying religiously philosophical theme of good, evil, and man was nothing short of brilliant. Although the struggle of good and evil is classic, almost trite even, the new twist of actually role-playing the everyday struggle was something I have not read before. It also tied in perfectly with his ghastly upbringing by his Aunt Balinda.
*END OF SPOILERS*
*END OF SPOILERS*
*END OF SPOILERS*

So, I personally thought that Thr3e was an excellent book, well written, and had a clever and thrilling plot. I would recommend it to any thriller-addicted reader, or anyone who likes a little philosophy in their books.

Technical Review
Narrative Pace: It started rather quickly, Slater calling Kevin only five pages into the book. After that, the pace slowed to an average speed, and picked up as the climax of the book neared. I’m actually quite impressed with the consistency of the pace, as a writer myself, I know it can be difficult to get the timing right.

Writing Style: I like Dekker’s writing style, its very easy and clear to read, but maintains the proper flair for writing fiction. Although, (like I have mentioned before) it does have a certain way of throwing a lot of information very quickly and then just as quickly with-holding information, it suits the purpose of the book.

Characters: While the characters aren’t very original, the good guys are likeable and the bad guys, well, unlikeable. Kevin’s personality fits like a glove to his role in the story, as does Jennifer, Samantha, and basically every character in here. Character growth is limited to Kevin and Jennifer.

Twist Quality: It is a very good twist. It is a twist with a twist, let’s just say that.

Beginning: It got to the main plot rather quickly, so the beginning was short to say the least. But it was a sound beginning, not confusing, and not boring either. It sets the first premise for the theme of the book, plus it gives a quick background of the setting and the current situation Kevin is in.

Ending: It was a satisfying ending, with mostly all the loose ends and questions tied up. Not particularly exciting but good as far as endings go.

And there you have it, 779 words on how I liked a book, plus the little technical details. Hope you found some use for this, and I also hope you don’t get offended if you think Thr3e deserves more of a rating than I gave it.

Till the next Review,
PenMaster

8 Responses to “Thr3e, By Ted Dekker”

  1. this is one of the worst reviews that i have ever read. you say that you are a Christian, but you disliked the book because there were no swear words? are you a moron? i personally think that you are. this book was nothing short of Brilliant, and veeeeeeery well written.

    • Alright, I’m going to clarify this once, and only once, so that we can come to an understanding.
      When there are characters that AREN’T Christian, and don’t swear, it seems fake. I suppose I should have said that a bit more clearly in the entry. I also never said it wasn’t brilliant.
      “So, I personally thought that Thr3e was an excellent book, well written, and had a clever and thrilling plot. I would recommend it to any thriller-addicted reader, or anyone who likes a little philosophy in their books.”
      My quote exactly.
      Also, I would think twice before calling someone a moron after reading a single book review; it’s terrible character judgment.

      • ya i guess your are right, i apologize for my statement. Thr3e is one of my favorite books, and i am rather “protective” if you will when it comes to that…

      • No problem. 🙂 I can understand how you’d be protective over a book, I have several favorites I’d defensive over.

  2. I think this was a lovely post.

  3. […] Thr3e, By Ted Dekker В« PenEmpress' Book Review Blog May 11, 2010 … Thr3e, By Ted Dekker. Personal Rating: 8.0 out of 10.0 … same person having read Fight Club and most of Shutter Island. … with mostly all the loose ends and questions tied up. … […]

Leave a Reply

